alternative information

                            The 9th commission of the National Media Commission (NMC) was last Friday (12/11/18) sworn into office at the conference room of the Chief Justice in the Supreme Court building. The judicial exercise was led by his Lordship Justice Julius Ansah, Justice of the Supreme Court. The function saw dignitaries including Mr. Alexander Bannerman, Ag. Executive Secretary-NMC, outgoing chairman of the NMC, Nana Kwasi Gyan-Apenteng, his Lordship Justice Julius Ansah, Justice of the Supreme Court, some old staffs of the outgoing commission and the like. 

Nana Kwasi Gyan-Appenteng, the outgoing chairman of the NMC in his remarks at the swearing-in expressed utmost gratitude to God Almighty and congratulated the new commissioners. “Firstly, I thank God that He has enabled my colleagues and I to finish our mandate successfully. Secondly, I congratulate the new Commissioners and welcome them to their new opportunity to serve the nation in an important function”, he said. 

He continued to thank the outgoing commission of the NMC and the government for their immense support, not forgetting the media industry for their cooperation. “On behalf of the members of the 8th commission, I wish to thank the government and the people of Ghana for giving us their trust which enabled us to do our work. We also thank the boards and managements of the state-owned media for their cooperation. We are also grateful to the entire media industry and establishment for their cooperation. We do appreciate the work of the secretariat led by the Executive Secretary and his deputy’’, he added. 

The outgoing Chairman complained that assessing the work done during his tenure of office is not enough as expected of his team when they were first inaugurated into office. He blamed government for underfunding the NMC and added that “the regulator of the media (NMC) has been understaffed and under-resourced in every direction they took.” He cried “the biggest obstacle migrated from the very foundations of the commission in the constitution and the NMC Law.” He reiterated that “to the worse, there is no apparent logic for the selection of the constituent bodies. If there was any such logic in the conditions of the late 1980s, today, we must review this membership to make it relevant to the current media landscape.”
His Lordship Justice Julius Ansah, Justice of the Supreme Court advised the new Commission to work beyond regulation and attend to “issues of standards and quality.”

Below is the list of the new Commission;
Nana Gyau Akabisa II - Ghana National Association of Teachers 
Rev. Dr. Mrs. Comfort Asare – National Council of Women & Development
Hon. Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi – Parliament House 
Hon. Buaben Asamoa – Parliament House
Hon. Richard Mawuli Kwaku Quashigah –Parliament House
Mr. William O. Oduro – Ghana Bar Association
Mr. Prince Harry Crystal - Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association 
Mr. Affail Monney – Ghana Journalists Association
Mr. Bright Blewu – Ghana Journalists Association 
Mr. Nii Addokwei Moffat – Ghana Association of Writers
Dr. Andy Ofori-Birikorang – Training Institutions and Communicators
Mr. Joseph Debrah-Gyamfi – Tribes Union Congress (Ghana)
Hajj Mohammed Amir Kpakpo Addo – Muslim Group
Sir Benedict Batabe Assorow – Christian Group
Mr. Elorm Edward Desewu –Private Newspapers Publishers Asso. of Ghana
Ms Elaine Sam – Institute of Public Relations of Ghana

Source: Destinyradioonline.com/ Emmanuel Nana Owusu                            



Join Alexander Kwabena Mayeyie on Destiny Radio every Tuesday and Wednesday for an awesome presence with the Lord

Enter Ad Details

Job Vacancy

Are you a marketer with an online marketing knowledge? Then Call: 0240146092 or Email: destinyradiogh1@gmail.com


Listen to intriguing, fascinating and captivating news, sports, entertainment, political news, etc on your mobile devices.